As global trade increases, many goods including those we use in a daily basis are produced in other countries and have to be transported long distances. Do the benefits of this trend outweigh the drawbacks?

Huge amounts of merchandise, encompassing those used regularly, are manufactured overseas and have to be conveyed across nations due to expanded worldwide trading. Personally, I believe that the benefit of this trend is greater than the demerit, as will be further explained in this essay. Admittedly, there have been some minor setbacks associated with long-distance transportation of goods internationally. Firstly it leads to the expiration of perishable items before they get to their destinations. This is because most edible items have specific best before dates, when merchandise does not get to consumers in receiving society at a set time, due to unforeseen hitches in the course of moving. For instance, foods like sardines already have an affixed expiration date and if they get stuck in warehouses and are unable to be cleared for a long period of time before getting to retailers it easily becomes expired. When this occurs, the chemical composition of the goods becomes different due to various factors, ingesting or using after expiration is harmful to man, animals and the entire environment. Secondly, most receiving societies cultivate an attitude of dependence on the supplying community. This is seen when the sector decides not to manufacture the products locally and decides to rely solely on international merchandise, which is usually costlier. Thereby, depleting their economic savings and helping to inculcate a culture of laziness amongst its citizens. However, despite the above minor demerits, I believe the advantages associated with the transportation of commodities across countries outweigh its disadvantages. One major reason is that buying and selling between regions help to foster long-lasting bonds and friendships amongst them. This is because, when a continuous relationship of trading has been established,over time, other economic sectors are also explored. For example, in the case of natural disasters like earthquakes, familiar communities tend to help and support affected countries with relief items for free. Thus the effect of the disaster is reduced. Another reason is that global trade help to minimize waste and spoilage of resources which are in excess in a particular country. This is because some regions of the world are overly blessed with specific natural resources, usually, they are unable to process and use them accordingly, such products can be lacking in neighbouring nations, making it better to sell and use the profit for other economic gains. Subsequently, there is a balance between these regions where products are produced and appropriately utilized and wastage is prevented. In conclusion, although international trading of goods has some minor drawbacks, I believe that the advantage in terms of increased economic earnings and international support far surpasses its demerits. Therefore, the government should put policies in place to make for smoother trading among countries.