Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Whether the university students should be given the freedom to choose the subjects of their interest or there should be a pre-defined syllabus, that will be beneficial in future. Both of these views have arguments for and against them; whereas, I personally believe that students should be given a wide range of subject choices along with the necessary subjects like science and technology. On the one side, talking about the freedom to choose subjects, people can fulfil their dreams and can follow their passion. As a result of which they can gain vast knowledge and are prepared for taking on challenges in that particular field. For instance, Branden Stanton, a famous self-taught photographer who had the record of photographing 10,000 people on New York city streets. What if he became a scientist? That is why it is indispensable to study the courses of one's interest and tertiary education must include this. In contrast, some people believe that universities must Include courses only related to science and technology. There are several compelling reasons behind this. One possible motive is to ensure a safe future with a stable income. which is quite riskier in other professions like art, singing and so on. Moreover, it is also believed that if there is a fixed syllabus then it will bound a student to prepare for the exam; while, an absolute privilege of choice dramatically increases the number of dropouts. Also, the development of a nation these days highly depends on the technologically sound workforce and universities should yield such a workforce for the country. From this perspective, it seems quite logical to study science-related subjects in higher courses. In conclusion, universities have to consider the advantages and disadvantages of any policy adopted including whether the students are free to pick their subjects or not. In my opinion, I believe that letting students prefer their subjects additionally to science seems to be more fruitful in a broader sense.