Economic growth in recent years made some people in both developed countries and developing countries richer. However, research shows that while people in developing countries are happier, people in developed countries seem not happier than before. Why does this happen? What can we learn from it?

Nobody can deny the growing economic progress in both developing and developed nations thanks to globalization. Whereas those nations benefit a lot and become wealthier along the line, studies reveal only individuals in the developing nations are more delighted with this progress. Basically, there’re many reasons for this phenomenon and we will discuss this issue in this essay. Happiness is the key factor that makes people ’s life more valuable. In recent years, people living in developing countries are more satisfied with their life than those in the past, while people belonging to developed countries encounter the contrary phenomenon. It is obvious that people from developing nations could have higher living standards nowadays in comparison with their previous dwellers. In these countries, money plays a fundamental role in people ’s life. With the rapid development, they tend to earn more money that could help them escape from poverty, allowing them to fulfill their wishes and improve their living quality. As a result, they become wealthier and feel happier in their life. On the other hand, competition in the economy and surrounding problems in society is something that people are not happy about. Due to economic growth, companies have to compete fiercely against each other for the market. Employees are forced to work harder than before to avoid being overtaken by other companies in technology, quality, and quantity. For example, companies in technology, and furniture,... have to regularly update the market situation to create new designs and technologies to attract customers. When the competition between companies is higher, the workers will have to put more effort into their work to get a lot of work done. That will make their time can only be spent on work, but lose time with family, and entertainment,... which means that people in developed countries are no longer as happy as they used to be. Jan-Emmanuel De Neve, Oxford University economist, and WHR collaborator says: “In terms of policy, we always feel that developing for the sake of growth cannot be considered the happiness of mankind." From the sentence and the reasons I mentioned above, we can infer some valuable lessons about happiness. It is true that we need to work and earn money for our lives but there is no denying that we need to enjoy our lives with our lovely people. Firstly, financial adequacy is very important. Without money, many people will have to live in poverty and work too hard to earn a living. As a result, people are often under constant pressure and therefore cannot live happily as financially stable people. Therefore, governments should support their citizens by providing more job opportunities and greater subsidies during difficult times such as a global pandemic or economic crisis to sustain their lives. they are at the basic level. Besides, other aspects of life also need to be closely considered to ensure sustainability, such as environmental and social issues. Nowadays, many people are materialistic, chasing a rich life without caring about the existing, good things around them. Money is important but not everything. Happiness cannot be bought with money. It is what makes life worth living. Human life is limited, so let's spend a lot of time for ourselves, travel, discover ourselves, nurture our interests, and wear the crown of ourselves. Besides, we should also spend time with family and those around us, enjoying the moments and moments together.