The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

At present, the constant search for new energy sources has been ever-rising as the population and consumption of fossil fuels are soaring. Developed countries today, to a greater extent, rely on nuclear power to fulfil their energy demands. While people consider this source inexpensive, high quality, and most significantly, a way to have national security, it cannot be overlooked that the demerits it brings with us are far more concerning. For instance, a threat to poor and under-developed countries. I strongly oppose this view of considering the pros of nuclear power important over its cons. To start with, one of the core problems that comes with nuclear power as an energy source is its ability to evoke a greater deal of destruction all over the world. Many countries where they have no such facility that could ensure their security, are constantly frightened by their nearby countries and other powerful ones, for they have their own nuclear power plants and stations. One such recent example is the war between Russia and Ukraine, where the former used its nuclear source on the latter. As a result,  the lives of people there have been greatly impacted. Additionally, the radioactive substances generated from nuclear stations affect its surrounding flora and fauna and are quite harmful to humans as well, though the latter case is not usually seen as these stations are built far away from human civilisation. However, it also appears that this energy is reliable in some ways. For example, providing us with non-polluted air and is less costly to produce. Further, a sense of peace and harmony is created by it, as it is the greatest weapon that any country could now have to ensure their safety and anyone would think twice before doing something that would lead them and others in trouble.  To sum up, the merits of nuclear energy can never suppress the demerits of this power. In other words, if a nuclear bomb exploded, it would unquestionably destroy half of the Earth