People are usually confronted with huge amount of advertisements in their life from competing companies. How do you think the advertising industry influences people? And what measures can be adopted to counter the risks of disastrous effects?

Nowadays, companies are competing with each other to advertise their products to potential customers using various methods. Subsequently, people are exposed to advertisements from the moment they wake up until the moment they fall asleep. This essay will discuss how this phenomenon can have negative effects on people and what we can do to counter these effects. While advertisement is important for both companies and potential customers, the massive amount of ads we see on daily basis can be quite concerning as it can lead to over-consumerism. Previously, we only see traditional advertisements on TV or in newspapers, but nowadays, companies use internet celebrities or so-called influencers to market their products on social media that people use on daily basis. This influencer-marketing concept uses the emotional connection between the influencers and their followers. For instance, when young girls see their idol wearing different pieces of clothing every day on Instagram, they would want to buy the same thing even though they do not need that many clothes. This can lead to people spending money on unnecessary things. When it comes to counteracting this issue, it is important as customers to be more critical of what they see in advertisements. People have to be more mindful of their primary, secondary and tertiary needs so that they would not impulsively buy things that they do not need. Moreover, people can limit themselves from social media so that they will not be continuously bombarded with advertisements. To sum up, companies continuously advertise their products in a way that touches people emotionally which can lead to impulsive buying and unnecessary spending. As customers, we have to be more aware of what we really need before buying something.