It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn the distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach behaviour to children?

Some people believe that children should be punished as to teach them the difference between a good and a bad behaviour. I vehemently disagree to this opinion for the reasons that I will outline in this essay and I also recommend modern ways for teaching their kids discipline. Firstly, children are too young to be aware of their mistakes at this stage of their lives, so punishing them physically will not help them to learn morals and ideals. In the contrary, it could lead them to be more stubborn and insist on behaving badly. Secondly, young people can possibly be violent when they grow up as a result of beating them every time, they make a mistake. Therefore, parents should not resort to physical punishment. There are so many ways that can help children discern between good and bad behavior. For Instance, parents and educators can ask a child to go to the grounding corner and they are not allowed to talk or play in this corner to make them understand that they behaved badly. Fathers and mothers should enable their kids to recognize their mistakes by asking to bear the consequences of their actions. For example, if a child breaks the doll of their siblings, they should not be given allowances or they should bring them a new toy. Following this strategy will lead kids to be more responsible and bear the consequences of their actions. In Summary, many educators believe that punishment is the only way of teaching kids right and wrong actions. I believe that such strategy is not efficient way of bringing up young people. I believe that resorting to modern methods has more fruitful results.