Society would benefit from complete ban on all forms of advertisements. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that advertising is reckoned completely worthless, and acknowledge that a ban on it absolutely brings about benefits. While I accept the downsides of advertisements, I would argue that there should not be a complete ban on advertisements. On the one hand, there are several reasons to believe that advertising has a negative impact on people’s shopping habits. For example, manufacturers and entrepreneurs, in order to boost their sales and profits, spare no effort to promote their products through captivating advertisements, which may consist of stunning pictures, extraordinary effects and exaggerated content. This stimulates the potential buyers resulting in impulsive purchases of unnecessary commodities. Another target of some companies is to aim children, and what they do is that they expose children to colourful and appealing commercials for products such as toys. Since young children are inexperienced, they tend to get apparently influenced by these commercials and consequently put pressure on their parents to purchase the items for them. On the other hand, I hold the perception that the prohibition of endorsements is not a sound initiative. From an economic perspective, this type of restriction could impact the economy of the country. To illustrate, there may be a boom in the unemployment rate as those who are working in the advertising industry would become jobless. In addition, companies could face plenty of challenges improving their profits owing to the fact that fewer customers are aware of their stocks and services. As a result, consumers may find it challenging to make purchases as there is little information on the choices that they are offered. In conclusion, advertising, albeit being harmful to the community somehow, appears to have vital roles to a certain extent. As such, I believe that banning it is not reasonable.