Many people argue that in order to improve educational quality, high school students are encouraged to make comments or even criticism of their teachers. Others think it will lead to a loss of respect and discipline in the classroom. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

To some people, in order to improve educational standards, high school students should be able to make comments or even criticism on their teachers. Even though others disagree, claiming that it could lead to a disrespectful and undisciplined study environment, I still lean towards the former. It is understandable why some people have voiced their concern over the act of students being able to judge their own teachers. To them, doing so means teachers and students are on equal terms, which can trigger the rebellious side in the latter and they may make comments full of animosity directed at their teachers, which is undoubtedly a sign of disrespect. In addition, some are afraid that teachers being judged might lose their authority, which can be an opportunity for delinquents at school to wreak havoc and cause trouble. Nevertheless, I believe these problems can be dealt with if there is proper regulation about student comments. For instance, any feedback without solid evidence or one showing prejudice can be disregarded when evaluating the performance of teachers. On the other hand, I concur that having students give presumably constructive comments can be advantageous to the educational system as a whole. The key rationale is that teachers and instructors are presented with a chance to self-reflect, which means they might adopt a more student-centred approach while teaching. To illustrate, some teachers in international schools in Vietnam have chosen a facilitator style in class, after comments from students and parents. Even with the controversy this might raise, like shattering teacher’s self-esteem and causing them to quit; or the fact that graduate students might become reluctant when applying for a teaching role in view of the uneasy feeling of being judged, I believe that any teachers that are willing to change to strive for the better would be an invaluable asset to the education system. To conclude, even though some people are against feedback and comments on teachers with the fear of losing discipline in class, I still support this idea, as it can really help teachers hone their teaching skills, benefitting the system in the long run. If there are some schools that are still adamant about this initiative, I suggest that they can use questionnaires first, before reverting back to written comments.