With the rise of e-book comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend.

In the modern world, there is a general tendency toward studying e- books instead of textbooks books which is dramatically increasing. Using these books has some pros and cons. This essay will illustrate both of them in detail. Using and reading e- books have a lot of profits. The first and foremost of them is environmental protection because in this way publishers don’t need papers. In other words, it avoids cutting trees in order to produce papers for publishing books. Furthermore, these books are cost-effective in comparison with printed books. For example, since the cost of producing and publishing an e-book isn’t high, the price of the final product is cheaper than its paper book. Despite the above arguments, e- books include some drawbacks. Lack of enough focus during reading time is one of them. It means, that when somebody uses an electronic device like a smartphone, his focus might be distracted by other applications such as a messenger. In addition, we shouldn’t overlook eye injuries. For instance, if someone is interested in studying a book at night, if he doesn’t set his mobile light appropriate night, his eyes will injure over time. To sum up, these days, using of e- books is rising. Notwithstanding the upsides of them like conservation of the environment and low prices, the downsides, such as focus distractors and eyes strains, should also be taken into consideration.