Some commentators feel that grandparents should live together with their children and grandchildren, while others say that elderly people should be encouraged to live independently. Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion.

In contemporary days, elder people are following a trend, where they would want to live on their own. However, this subject is quite debatable where a number of people would not want this and would like to live with their elders, others seem to support the opposite side of the argument. This essay will discuss both, supporting ideas and opposing ideas and give a final opinion in the conclusion. On the one hand, with growing, age everybody needs care and health facilities, despite believing otherwise. It is a known fact that the body becomes fragile and weak as one gets old, not to mention various diseases that accompany it, and without anyone to look after, people might have decreased life expectancy than should normally. For instance, when grandparents live in an extended family, their medical bills and home care can easily be done by family members. Secondly, social interaction also seems to fade away with age. Generally, when people retire, their office connections weaken and there is a sense of isolation, which, however, can be avoided, for example, by spending time with their grandchildren, but only when they live with their families. By contrast, the opposing arguments say that everyone in the family would need to spend time with their old parents, which appears quite difficult to do with the former's busy working lives. For instance, with long working hours, it has now become tough to spare time for anyone, even the old ones. Moreover, in contrast to the past, everybody desires independence, even grandparents, as if they, too, want to spend their life according to their wishes and not to be confined and restricted by others. For instance, a lot of times they are not allowed to leave the house and enjoy themselves, which will not be the case when they live on their own. To sum up, it appears to me that, although the urge to be self-reliant and having less time given to elders is prominent, they should not be left alone to live, as these are the years of their lives where they require extra attention and medical assistance.