These days, in many countries, fewer and fewer people want to become teacher, particularly in secondary schools. What are the reasons for this, and how could the problem be solved?

For the past decades, teachers was less interesting to many people. More and more people do not want to become teachers, especially in secondary schools. In fact, some people contend that the rate of people becoming teachers is the lowest it has been. This essay will present the underlying cause of this phenomenon and propose a practical solution to tackle this problem. There are several factors leading to this issue. Firstly, the teaching job is not well-paid, especially in developing countries such as Vietnam. As the financial need is increasing significantly and the cost of everything is climbing, not many people dare to have a job that does not have a high salary. Secondly, although teaching students is an ethical action, it requires a lot of qualities. To be more specific, to be a decent teacher, particularly in secondary schools, he/she needs to have a great teaching method, they have to make sure that their lectures are interesting and easy to understand. Unfortunately, many people in my country can not qualify for that requirement. Luckily, a number of solutions can be adopted to address the problem. First, the government should encourage people to be teachers by explaining the importance of teaching kids. By encouraging people how important it is, more people will give their respect to this job and decide to be a teacher. Second, there should be legislation about increasing the salary of the teaching job. Teaching is a respectful and difficult job. So the authorities should thank them by letting them have the higher living standard. In conclusion, not being well-paid is the main reason for this problem. If not addressed immediately, this phenomenon will have an overreaching effect on society, not just individuals.