Modern societies need specialist in certain fields, not others. Some people therefore think that governments should pay university fees for students who study subjects that needed by society. Those who choose to study less relevant subjects should not receive government funding. Would the disadvantages of such an educational policy outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Nowadays, artisans and specialists tend to be revered more than ever and are expected to make societies better. In my opinion, learners studying towards these specialised careers must receive government funding. Such students are spurred to perform even better and do benefit the society more as compared to those with less technical careers. Contrary, less technical programmes will have lower attendances owing to lack of funding, as students will be demotivated and feel hard done by the government. This creates a void in certain careers and aspects of society. State sponsored tertiary education motivates learners to take the challenging technical subjects and meet the pass requirements. Students who take science subjects that are essential to study medicine and engineering, for example, deserve government tuition. Their skills are an asset to humanity. Recently, the community benefitted from the unique qualities of civil engineers who planned and constructed a suspension bridge over a gorge to ease transport problems. The shows the positive effects of aiding technical-related tertiary education. Conversely, not financially assisting less technical subjects has detrimental effects to society. Unlike those who are technically gifted, arts students for example may feel hard done by not receiving financial aid. Lack of artists in any society means that there is a shortage of people like musicians and linguists. Their faculty is classified as arts, meaning that they do not qualify for governmental aid. They will also feel neglected and discriminated against because of their subject choices. In conclusion, if the state offers particular tertiary packages, all learners may be motivated to work towards those areas of study. However, the areas of study not covered by the government will be less appealing to learners. Also, this creates a void in certain areas of the community as most learners will flock towards areas that are funded by the state, including those who are less technically talented.