Computers these days can translate all kinds of language with great accuracy. Hence, our children will not need to learn more languages in the future. Do you agree or disagree?

Technology has become so advanced that it can translate any language. Many people believe that because of technological support, teaching children any additional language is no longer necessary. In my opinion, I disagree entirely with the statement because over-dependence on computers affects our personal growth, and also it leads to a communication gap. In the forthcoming paragraph, I will explain my point of view. Communication through technology will lead to a lack of understanding among the people. The same word can have different meanings in different contexts. Likewise, different words can have the same meaning. Using a particular word in the proper context requires special skills that computer applications do not possess. For instance, club, band, association, and group are all synonyms of society, but not all of them can fit in one particular context; therefore, there will be some lack of clarity when computers are used to translate. A language expresses a culture that only a human can understand properly. At the same time, over-dependence on computers affects our personal growth. When we expose children to the technology to translate a language, we become over-dependent on computers. The result is that we fail to develop our intellectual abilities, which further hinders our ability to solve complex problems. Thus, the cognitive ability to perform a particular task tends to diminish. Furthermore, we will not have access to technology every time and everywhere. For example, in remote places, we will not be able to use technology due to a lack of support; therefore, in those cases, we need to develop our learning skills to communicate with the locals. In conclusion, over-dependence on computers will spoil our intellectual development, and such technology can create a communication gap among people.