In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment. What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can/should be done about it?

It is a fact that many highly-educated people are struggling to find jobs and ending up being jobless. This worrying phenomenon results from two primary factors: insufficient work-related skills and unrealistic expectations. In this circumstance, the involvement of government and educational institutions is essential. As far as unemployment is concerned, a lack of practical skills is the most common cause. Many colleges and universities nowadays put too much emphasis on theoretical education in lieu of providing students with hands-on experience of what it really is in a workplace. As a result, they graduate without employability, which lowers their competitiveness in the job market. Another reason could be personal choices when fresh graduates expect easy jobs with high salaries. Consequently, despite being underqualified for highly-paid professions, they still refuse to work as unpaid interns to get more experience. In this case, unemployment is an inevitable option. There are still a few resolutions for this problem, however. First, it is the responsibility of governmental bodies, especially the education ministry, to offer career guidance for fresh graduates. This can be provided in the form of orientation programs that equip young people with essential work skills and help them discover and exploit potentials that they have not yet recognized so that they might be able to find alternative career paths that suit them better than the current ones. Furthermore, this issue also urges educational institutions to change their curricula. They should include more applicable courses such as leadership skills and email productivity to accommodate students with work-related skills and a realistic outlook on what it is like to join the workforce. In conclusion, despite having a significant advantage of access to tertiary education, many graduates are still out of work mainly because of the insufficiency of work-related skills and overly high expectations. Nevertheless, I believe that some solutions such as career guidance and a revamp of study programs could help address this issue.