Atomic energy is becoming a more and more popular energy source. However, some people argue that nuclear power puts life on the Earth to danger. Do you think the advantages of nuclear power outweigh its disadvantages?

The development of nuclear power has long been a huge concern to the public. Pessimists believe that it has posed threats to global safety; however, from my viewpoint, the adverse effects of atomic energy are totally eclipsed by the benefits it offers. Firstly, it is important to take into account the fact that atomic energy is an ideal substitution for fossil fuels. Apparently, the advent of nuclear reactors leads to a decrease in demands for petrol and coal, which are the primary culprits of detrimental fumes emitted into the atmosphere, in terms of electricity generation. Hence, the air quality could be bettered and the greenhouse effect alleviated as a result. A telling example of this argument is the fall in the figure of coal power plants, which have greatly contributed to the overall deterioration of the environment in general and the severity of air pollution in particular since the invention of this electricity production method. By contrast, many objectors remain wary of nuclear engineering due to its utilisation of radiation materials, which have destructive impacts and could be detrimental to nature as well as any living forms if spread. The argument is true to some extent; nevertheless, they are ignorant of the fact that the catastrophes caused by radiation could be anticipated and effectively prevented with the help of well-trained and experienced atomic specialists. Therefore, it would be unreasonable for nuclear power to be deemed hazardous and its practicality overlooked. The extremely limited number of nuclear disasters in the past decades may be a typical example of this justification. In conclusion, atomic energy has substantially contributed to environmental protection and become an integral part of every industry. Though menaces do exist, as long as they are fully understood, the advantages are completely undeniable.