The number of people being sent to prison is increasing year by year while some people believe that prison is the best way to tackle crime other suggest that community service is more successful Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

These days population of prisoners is rising annually. A section of society holds a notion that in order to mitigate crime offenders should be sent to jail,while critics negates it and believe that public service plays a very prominent role in crime reduction. Although both the aspects hold their own significance, my inclination is toward the latter viewpoint. To begin with one major reason why people believe in sending prisoners to jail is that punishment help make a person realise his mistake. As if a criminal got scollded for his crime and punished hardly for it, then he will think twice to commit such offence in near future. For example, if a the Choose an article the show examples parents scold their children in their first mistake then the child will hesitate to perform such act again in the future because he will definitely remember the punishment received for the mistake made in the past. On the other hand, there are numerous reason to believe that public service help in crime reduction. First and foremost, it will help a person in diverting their mind in some fruitful act that could bring a sense of responsibility for them. Particularly involving offenders in some community service help them to stay busy for the benefit of the society, consequently it will bring a feeling of responsiveness that their service help the nation to grow and prosper. This will automatically reduces crime. To exemplify, in a recent article published in the Tribune newspaper on 05 th July regarding the life of a prisoner who recently came back after serving his term, it was published that by serving community during his term, help him remain motivated and also bring joy of serving the public beside this he started doing such services afterward. As per my opinion, I believe that serving the community help a person to build skills and interest that will consequently help in earning good income, this will help a person to earn their basic need. Due to the fact that, mostly crimes were executed for the sake of money only. Hence if an individual gets a chance to earn their livelihood then it will surely help the society in reducing the crime. To conclude, although punishment helps in reducing crime rate from the nation, the chance to get paid for the work will help a person to earn and raise their family effectively, as a result the crime rate will definitely reduces.