The media pay too much attention to the lives and relationships of celebrities such as actors, singers or footballers. They should spend more time reporting the lives of ordinary people instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Advancement in technology has made it easier for people to get access to all sorts of information. However, there is a statement saying that the press is too attentive to the personal lives of superstars, while they should allocate more time for giving details of ordinary people ’s lives. In my opinion, I partly agree with this idea. To begin with, reporting about the lives and relationships of famous people is a way to attract readers. Viewers are interested in getting news about celebrities because they want to know more about the person they admire. Therefore, by publishing headlines about these superstars, the media can have a high rate of viewers and make considerable profits. In addition, famous people can have influences on the behaviour of residents to better the community. To explicate, some celebrities contribute significantly to the development of society, so they can be a role model for the public to follow. For example, the news of Thuy Tien Miss Grand coming to Africa to help folks there has inspired residents to support the needy. On the other hand, I argue that the lives of ordinary people should be paid more attention to. The public cannot know what poor and disadvantaged people have to suffer without reading such articles. If the media give more information about the hardship and difficulty of the needy, the community will be well-informed and try to find ways to assist them. For instance, thanks to the constantly updated news about the flood in the Central part of Vietnam, folks around the country can donate their money, goods, food, and clothes to sufferers. Also, governments are able to gain a deeper insight into the lives of dwellers to come up with policies and solutions to improve citizens living standards. In conclusion, it is undeniable that the press needs to be aware of the personal lives of superstars. This can be beneficial for society and individuals as a hold, but the media should also pay more attention to ordinary people ’s lives for a better community.