Some children pend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this is the case? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In recent years many children around the world spend too much time on their phones. This is because they can play various games using smartphones. This should be seen as a negative development because it reduces the amount of time kids spend on their studying. Modern smartphones are often used by children as a playing tool. This is because these devices allow to download and install different mobile games specially developed for children. As a result, they spend hours every day on this entertainment, and some of them become addicted to these games. For example, in Japan around 75% of children aged 9-11 spend almost four hours a day playing games on their mobile devices, which has already become a matter of concern for the health and educational departments of the country. Spending too much time on smartphones has a negative effect on children ’s achievements at school. This is because they endlessly scroll their smartphones instead of doing homework, which has a dramatic impact on their study progress. A recent study found that children who spend more than two hours a day playing with their smartphones were less successful at school subjects compared to their peers who spend less time on their phones. In conclusion, some children spend too much time on their smartphones because these devices have become a source of entertainment. I consider this to be a negative trend because children dedicate less time to their studies, which directly impacts their learning performance.