Some people think that the government should be responsible for crime prevention, while others believe that it is the responsibility of the individual to protect themselves. Discuss both sides and give your opinion. #people

Illegal activities are rising these days. A section of society holds a notion that individuals should follow measures to safeguard themselves from unlawful activity, while critics negate it and believe it to be the sole responsibility of the administration. Although both the aspects hold their own significance, my inclination is toward the latter viewpoint. To begin with, there are numerous methods for the general public to remain safe from offenders. First and foremost, by keeping security measures, a person can shield themselves from illegal activities. To explain it further, in order to keep safe, various equipment like a licensed gun and a basic chilly powder in the purse could help an individual in some unforeseen circumstances. For example, in Denmark, in 2018, a girl protected herself from the gang of rapist, by throwing chilly powder on their eyes as, they are running behind and following her with the intent to rape her. Secondly, by avoiding travel to crime prevalent area alone, a human could remain safe from such an act. Particularly, most miscreants target alone individuals, hence traveling with others helps a person to remain safe. Moreover, avoiding travel during crime hours could also help to remain safe. On the contrary, authorities play a very vital role in crime prevention. Firstly, strict law and order rules help in reducing crime rates in the area. As, if a lawmaker starts punishing the culprits immediately after their offence, a lot of illegal activities could be avoided. To exemplify, in Singapore, rape cases had declined by 46 percent because of new rule by government to immediately sentence a criminal to death who commit rape. Another point is, by installing security gadgets like CCTV cameras in different locations, an offence can be averted. Particularly, government steps to install CCTV cameras, moreover, increasing the number of police stations and beat boxes in rural areas, help the society in the long run. Since, criminals would find it hard to commit the offence in these areas, consequently, these misdeeds could be prevented. To conclude, although residents could follow certain measures to keep safe from unlawful activities, however, in my opinion government measures to avert crime, by installing CCTV and police stations in numbere numbered numbers locations help the nation to build crime free society in future.