The ways people interact with each other have been changing dramatically for the past thirty years because of text messaging. In what ways has text messaging affected the types of interactions people have? Has this become a positive or negative development?

In this present world, the usage of technology is constantly on the rise, this totally changed the way people keep in touch with each other, such as increasing distant interactions and decreasing in person talk. It is agreed that text messaging becomes a positive development. Text messaging is an online connection tool which can give people more satisfaction. For example, if people keep far away from their family, like working in another city or study abord, they give a message by texting to change a long distance into a heart-to-heart connection easily. It is a good way for them to share the things which happened recently to their family members, also to decrease their homesick. However, text message also has some diverse effects. For example, using words cannot express people ’s current feelings exactly. Using different emotion to give the same sentences might have a different meaning. In addition, texting message spends people a lot of time. If people want to discuss a business case, they cannot just test words to express their ideas clearly. This would decrease the working effectiveness. But those drawbacks above can be solved by using different interaction methods. For example, people can use video calls in the same apps to express their feeling to others or they can open an online meeting to discuss their different business debates. In conclusion, although text message sometimes cannot express people ’s feelings or ideas clearly as well as exactly, but it provides a method for people to communicate with other person easily without considering distance. Thus, the idea of text message becomes a positive development can be supported.