In the past, buildings often reflected the culture of a society but today all modern buildings look alike and cities throughout the world are becoming more and more similar. What do you think is the reason for this, and is it a good thing or a bad thing?

In most people’s view, buildings are a kind of window to learn different culture. Currently, the styles of buildings become more and more similar no matter in which countries and cities. The reason of this phenomenon may be the same standard of beauty, lake of cultural architectural technologies and fast social life race. These reasons may lead architecture in every country to a slow or even worse development. The reason why buildings are becoming more similar may be the same standard of beauty, lake of cultural architectural technologies and fast social life race. Firstly, because of the international art communications, the standard of beauty throughout the world become almost the same, especially in the architecture. There are more and more architects draw similar building designs and build them up in order to have a more convenient life rather than express the cultural knowledge. Secondly, in many countries, the special cultural technologies in architecture have endangered. It is difficult to find an experienced craftsman to teach people how to establish a traditional and cultural building. In addition, modern life is very fast that everyone is busying on their work and life. And workers also be busy and anxious in their architectural work. So, they can’t pay more attention on how to make the architecture special. Therefore, it is certainly a bad trend. If buildings are all same, it is difficult to teach children to learn their own architectural culture. And it also can reduce the culture atmosphere during people’s life. Secondly, the similar building in different cities may decrease the tourists from other cities and countries. People may prefer visit nearby place instead. It will reduce the income for local government. In addition, the same building may be harmful for people’s mental health. It is boring for people to look the same scenes during the whole day. They need watch different sites to change their emotion and express their pressure. In conclusion, a variety of reasons cause this phenomenon and it is not good for everyone.