Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes. This essay completely disagrees with the statement for several reasons. To begin, I think that forcing teenagers to do unpaid, obligatory charity work is ethically questionable. It borders on exploiting teenagers’ time and labour. Students have already invested time and effort into their studying programs at school, they do not need more work. Therefore obligatory charity activities are exploitative and unnecessary for anyone’s education, no matter what they are for. Furthermore, students need to feel the urge to help improve their community all on their own. If students’ first impression of charity work is the feeling of being forced to participate in it, they might avoid volunteering for community service in the future. For example, math could be very fun and interesting to learn on its own, but most people stopped learning about math after school because it reminds them of exams. Charity work should only be encouraged, not forced on because it will create conflicts. In conclusion, I do not think that obligatory unpaid community service should exist in high school programs.