Some companies and organisations require their employees to wear uniform. What are the advantages and disadvantages of wearing uniform.

Few companies and organizations emphasise their employees wearing the uniform. Although wearing a uniform could give some positives to the company, it could also have some negative impacts as well. In this essay, I am going to discuss the pros and cons of wearing an office uniform and my personal opinion on whether a company should introduce it or not. Introducing a uniform could have a lot of advantages for the company. Firstly, It helps customers and their own staff to identify their own employees. For instance, If a customer visits a clothing shop, it is important for the customer to quickly figure out who are the members of the sales so he/she could ask questions related to the products. Secondly, uniforms could be used as a method of branding. For example, we could see football brands such as Chelsea and Manchester united use the same set of colours on players` tracksuits, shorts and t-shirts which helps their fans to remember the brand quite easily. Finally, some employees feel wearing a company uniform is a privilege. This would motivate the employees which could increase the employees ` efficiency rate. On the other hand, wearing a uniform could bring some disadvantages as well. Some may feel that they don't have the freedom and the comfort in order to do their job peacefully. Most of the uniforms fall under the smart-wear category, even though some may hate to wear smart clothes. In addition, some hate to see themselves being used as an object by asking them to wear a uniform, simply because companies want to promote their brand. For example, in 1995, more than 25,000 employees of Mc.Donalds stood against wearing the company `s bright yellow uniform. Last but not least, If the unform design is outdated and looks bad, it could damage the company's reputation which could lead to losing customers. In summary, I have highlighted the benefits and drawbacks of wearing a uniform. In my opinion, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages, therefore it is advisable for employers to introduce a modern, unique uniform which goes along with the company's colours and the logo.