Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been suggested that many schools should add compulsory community service into their programmes. Most institutions have been adding it but it is not compulsory. I personally completely agree with this initiative because this will bring many valuable skills to students. Life skills are crucial for their life and bright future. By doing this voluntary work, they will be able to not only learn how to communicate and collaborate with others but also learn how to manage their time and improve their organizational skills. Unfortunately, after-school activities no longer exist nowadays and students just go home after school time and sit in front of T.V and play online games. Creativity will be strongly boosted if we give them suitable compulsory work after school through interacting and working with charitable or community organizations. This will be not only an asset to their resume but also a big plus in their future employability as recent recruiters are always looking for candidates who are highly skilled. Personal financial skills will also gain via participating in charity work as they will learn how to hard to earn money and know how to spend them in practical and useful ways. Moreover, the crime levels can be reduced in our community because nobody needs to commit crimes to make a living. In addition, if students have meaningful work to do then they will not be bored and doing something silly that affects their surroundings. In conclusion, I think this is a great idea and I also hope school leaders will put these programmes into action shortly.