In the world of the internet, people write product reviews of products and services. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

With the ubiquitous reviews website available on the Internet, they allow people to express their opinions and hopefully help other consumers to make their decisions wisely. On the other hand, competition between companies may attract abuse of such platforms in writing fake reviews of their own products or their competitors' products, hoping to draw the attention of some innocuous prospective buyers. While the usage can be controversial, I am arguing in the favor of writing reviews on those platforms. In this essay, we will discuss real-life examples and reviews of mobile applications. The benefits of a legitimate review are obvious. First of all, it helps potential customers or users with their research and comparisons. Almost every one of us would have some experience that we felt undecided on the options that we had in our hands, followed by countless hours of searching on the Internet hopefully finding product videos or some user experience to aid our decision process. A few good reviews would reduce the effort needed and allow us to spend time more actually enjoying the product. Secondly, legitimate reviews provide valuable feedback to the product manufacturer or service providers. This feedback would in turn improve the product or service quality. Numerous product development teams now employ user-driven design strategies and pay for customers to provide feedback just to understand where the product can be improved. Reviews on Amazon or mobile application stores provide a precious channel for the customer to communicate with the developers indirectly. In addition to benefitting the potential users, as well as product manufacturers and services providers, review systems can also help regulators or store owners. Consider the case of mobile application stores, such as the Apple App Store and Google Play Store - thousands of new applications are released every day by developers worldwide. Without such a review system in place, it would be virtually inhibitive for Apple and Google to uphold the quality of the applications available in their store. This will in turn safeguard the general public from having malicious applications installed on their devices. There have been cases where mobile applications which were trying to steal personal information are rightfully removed from their respective stores after receiving legitimate negative reviews. Although one may point out that fake reviews may mislead potential customers, it is not a devastating problem for the whole review system in general. It is not unheard of for product reviewers to point out fake reviews on Amazon and alert their peer readers of the true intent of such reviews. All in all, I believe that writing product and service reviews deliver a better experience to the general public, and it outweighs the negative impact of the abuse of such system.