Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is true that individuals prefer to be self-employed instead of working for a corporation or organisation recently. There are several reasons why this happened and the drawbacks are also introduced. To begin with, people are more ambitious than ever before. Encouraged by so many successful examples, they want to be the next Bill Gates. Thus, once they accumulate enough experiences and resources from a large company, they may choose to start their own business. Not only do they want to earn more money, but also they can have more freedom for decision. There will be no restrictions since you are the boss of yourself. In addition, the relationships between colleagues are hard to cope with nowadays. Citizens have a hard time solving problems among colleagues. Becoming self-employed means they have no colleagues or they can choose to hire an appropriate employee. Nevertheless, there are plenty of drawbacks being self-employed. First of all, it can bring much more pressure compared to working in a company. You need to worry about the income. In addition, you will be busier than ever before. To what I know, if you want to succeed in your work, you may put more efforts and time to it. It is quite common for a self-employed person to work in weekends. Moreover, you may find it is difficult to earn money in the beginning. Generally, people spend their savings on renting rooms or buying equipment instead of making a profit. In conclusion, although there are many drawbacks of being self-employed, citizens are still willing to do so in order to pursue their dreams.