To solve the problem of traffic congestion govt should provide free public transport 24*7. To what extent do you agree or disagree. more disagree as there could be so many other ways to sort it out. It helps companies to change the working hours

Any government should be concerned about people `s day-to-day issues in order to improve their productivity. Traffic congestion is one of those issues, however, some believe providing free transportation could solve this issue in a significant way. In my perception, I agree with the statement because, although it may have certain disadvantages, there are plenty of advantages which could help the government to improve its economy. The availability of free transportation around the clock could have brought benefits. Firstly, It provides flexibility for employers to change the working hours as they please. For example,most IT companies prefer to have night shifts for their employee since they hardly depend on others. Secondly, free transportation could help people to save costs. In Sri Lanka, on average, a person spends more than 30% of their salary on transportation tickets. Finally, this solution could help people to explore more and find new opportunities such as business and investment opportunities. Nevertheless, this could have certain drawbacks as well. Sometimes when you give something for free, people tend to take it for granted. As a result, they could end up using public transportation with less care. In addition, If the companies are reluctant to change their working patterns, there will be only a few occupying the seats. Especially during the night times. This could result in wasting fuel and paying staff on a plan which is less effective. In summary, I have highlighted the benefits and drawbacks of introducing ticketless transport 24*7. In my opinion, this could bring out many advantages to the people as well as the country`s economy. Yet, a proper plan would be required in order for the project to be successful, therefore, government officials need to do a thorough feasibility study, a solid design and a proper plan before implementing the project.