Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recently, there has been an influx of advertisements from opposing companies that target customers. This has led to increased confusion as people are uncertain of which goods or services better cater to their needs. As a result of this, more must be done by the governing authorities to protect buyers from these corporations. This essay will address the manner in which consumers are swayed by advertisements and possible methods to guard them. Regarding the influence of advertisements, people are often exploited by marketing. Numerous industries are aware of the power of good campaining, thus they often purchase and utilise various avenues to gain the attention of possible buyers. This is evident in the numerous notifications that pop up while browsing the internet. Social networking giants are paid by numerous consumer sites to advertise their products. These are often other companies that are operate through e-commerce such as food delivery services, online clothes stores and film sharing sites. All these work together to permit the individual to select and purchase items all while staying in the comfort of their homes. Although this is major progress in terms of ease of purchase it has also led to passive buying with many customers failing to read the fine print and suffering dire consequences in the future. As these products are usually poorly regulated by consumers, more must be done by those in power to prevent unnnecessary purchases by civilians. Although many have argued that customers ultimately hold all the power and can decide against it, purchasing of goods has become an increasingly difficult terrrain to nagivate. Many huge social media companies now have neuromarketing sub-groups that work buy buying data from sites that individuals visit and display these everytime the user logs on to the internet. This begs for more to be done in terms of regulation. Governments should prevent this by first educating the public on the dangers of online shopping. This could be done by having national campaigns warning purchasers on what is really taking place, as well as ensuring transparency on all internet sites. This could lead to a safer environment for purchasers. To conclude, Consumers are usually unaware of the manipulation that takes place on the different avenues they frequent. The government needs to take action to prevent corporations from influencing them and create a better method for buyers and sellers alike.