The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally.

There is a widespread phenomenon,the growth of tourism will cause the English dialect to become the most paramount globally. Some individuals believe this will result in it being spoken exclusively nationwide. this essay shall outline the benefits and drawbacks of this situation after which a reasonable conclusion shall be drawn. First of all effective communication is one of the many reasons people believe tourism is helping the English language to be important. With easy communication, foreigners will feel free to move without any fear of being isolated. They can ask for help when need be and be easily assisted because it would be understood consequently improving socialization. Additionally, international trade will be promoted. Traders bringing their products from other countries will be at easy with their buyers as they understand themselves well to bargain. As a result, a lot of people will bring their goods since they know a better market awaits them. For example in a recent interview with the trade minister, it was revealed that Ghanaians obtain good value for their goods when they take it to Nigeria because both of them can understand themselves Despite effective communication and improvement in international trade, English becoming the sole spoken language cannot go without a challenge and one of them is extinction of our indigenous dialects and heritage.Most people will abandon their local dialect and culture such that with time their way of dressing, talking and mannerisms is what will be adopted. In view of this, our cherished language and culture will be forgotten in the next generation and go into extinction. For example in an interview with the education ministry, it was revealed that, with the use of the English language in teaching and learning, about 65% of the Ghanaian children are not able to interact with their mother tongue gradually causing the language to fade away. In conclusion, after considering the merits and demerits of this occurrence, it is felt that the ups far outweigh the downs. I will therefore recommend that English becomes the famous dialect spoken globally.