Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s contemporary world, social media plays a significant role in the way people lead their lives and it is getting more and more popular among people from all ages. With regard to this, some argue that this bears some risks in itself. While I support the notion that social media can be risky at times, I also believe its pros outweigh its cons. To begin with the positive sides of social media, it provides a connection with others. This can be easily observed in some renowned networking websites or applications namely Facebook, Twitter or Instagram, since people can connect to their loved ones in any location of the world. Besides social connections, people can also utilise social media in terms of business opportunities. To clarify, provided that you enjoy a LinkedIn account, you can easily search and apply for job positions depending on your field without having to deal with mailing or trying to reach the relevant person. Moreover, it should also be mentioned that the speed of reaching information has been increased with social media. While it may take a print television to publish some news a day, it can be broadcast on social media platforms in minutes. As saving time for anything is of crucial importance for people nowadays, it brings about a huge merit for the public. For instance, when you are (supposed) to do a research about a subject, be it an assignment or a project, you will be able to find countless resources, making it quite convenient for people as you will not have to spend time digging books in the library. Despite the positive contributions of social media, I should accept that there is also a major risk. Since social media has many attractive features, people are keen on using them without considering the dangers. To illustrate this with an example, social media enables people to share their location with others, which can be generally seen by anyone. Although it might seem like an extreme instance, people even put their lives in danger by doing so. Anyone who might be willing to hurt them can effortlessly use this information to track them down. Thus, security problems are a huge drawback of social media. All in all, it is obvious that there exist both advantages and disadvantages associated with social media. However, from where I stand, merits of connectivity and speed readily outweigh the demerits.