In many workplaces, online communication is now more common than face-to-face meetings. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Effective communication is considered the main source of productivity for any business. Nowadays, many companies are trying to make it simple. Nonetheless, it is generally argued that the online way of meeting is increased than the physical meetups. However, the following paragraphs would shed light on the pros and cons of virtual meetings. To commence with the benefits, there are myriad things to be shared in its favour. First and foremost, online conferences save a lot of time. For example, if someone has to attend the session in his office, he will have to dress up accordingly, will get the equipment prepared for the presentation, and will have to arrange transport to travel. All this consumes his extra time and efforts besides the actual time. Furthermore, they make it convenient for the members to arrange them, record them, ask any queries spontaneously, attend to them from anywhere in the world and jot down important things easily. Presently, there is a plethora of online software available that is easy to install, can be used from any device and comes with advanced features, for example, multiple screens sharing, highlighters and one-click recording options. As a consequence, such kinds of mediums are widely used all over the globe. Shifting towards the second school of thought, which is the negative side, the virtual seminars do not provide the surety that everyone in the meeting is concentrating and focusing on the contents. According to the research, most of the employees just sign in and instead of taking the sessions, they usually indulge in doing their own work. As a result, these types of meetups do not extract the true essence and do not ensure the proven results as well. Moreover, virtual meetings can be delayed and interrupted multiple times. For illustration, they are dependent on the power or battery-operated devices and in case of electricity failure or low battery, they face delays. Similarly, the internet is the only channel for conducting them and due to its poor quality, these discussions are interfered with. Hence, because of numerous disadvantages, these meetings are overlooked by some organizations. In conclusion, it is commonly opined that online meetups are majorly used in comparison to physical conferences. Nevertheless, if the internet and power supply issues are resolved completely, they will be adopted and become more advantageous for the firms.