Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

In the past decades, many educators and parents across the globe have been pushing pupils to learn English, as they believe that by learning this language children will have a better future. However, by doing so, local idioms are teetering on the edge of extinction. While I believe that learning English is important, I also think that we should preserve all different dialects. There are some reasons why we should learn English. Firstly, it is the main language used by different universities across the globe. For instance, many academic groups report their findings in academic journals which are published in English. Therefore, if students want to chase an academic career, or simply to be updated with the most relevant information, they must be good users of English. Secondly, with the rise of globalization, and neoliberalism there is a constant need to connect people and trade goods, and currently, English is the main language used for international commercial activities. On the other hand, every language spoken is important. Not only are idioms strongly related to the history and culture of nations, but they also bring the feeling of belonging to a place or a community. Moreover, the translation of languages does not perfectly correspond, i.e., several words cannot be translated. For example, in some dialects, there is no word for “goodbye” or “I am sorry”, so, by letting tongues fade away, we jeopardize how natives express themselves accurately. There are possible solutions that could combine both objectives- i.e., teaching English and preservation of other languages. Firstly, primary, and secondary schools could offer courses in both idioms (English and local language). In my hometown, for example, there are several bilingual educational institutions, where children learn both languages. Another option is to ensure that kids and adolescents are constantly exposed to local cultural activities, such as films and arts. This is particularly relevant as they will not only learn the language itself, but they also will be connected to their community. In a nutshell, there are several motivations to learn English, and parents and educators should ensure access to it. However, in a detailed analysis, we realize by letting local dialects disappear could be highly problematic. Therefore, governments and educators should employ different efforts to not let this happen.