Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Since obesity has risen among adults and children, many people has raised their concern about the highly used of sugar. As a result, some people claim that sugary products should raise their price in order to reduce consumption. However I partly disgaree with this view as I think education may be more effective. To begin with, the intention of purchasing sweetness may reduce if making sugar products more expensive. Since suger is a fundamental material for many foods and drinks, firms may have to increase their prices in order to maintain profit. For example, price of each cake may increase for £2 owing to the high cost of raw material. Therefore, consumer may be less willing to spend their money on sweetness which may lower the chances of getting health problems. On the other hand, educating the public may solve the roots of the issue. As certain citizens may not understand the undesirable effects which brought by injecting too much suger, providing an access of correct knowledge may encourage them to change their habit. For example, people may force themselves to consume less sugar once they know that heart attack is related to obesity. Therefore, by giving them the knowledge, the public may choose not to take high- suger products even if they are rich. In conclusion, although rasing the price may reduce the intention of buying sugary sugery products, it may not be effective to those who are wealthy. However, educating the citizens may be more beneficial since it can change the habits.