Government should close companies that produce toxic waste materials without their own waste treatments facility in order to protect the environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Authorities should ban facilities that generate harmful waste without improper measures for treatment in order to curb environmental pollution. I totally agree with this, because toxic effluents have a great negative impact on the environment which in turn affects the habitat. This results in numerous health challenges for human beings and also livestock. In this essay, I will discuss extensively the demerits of this act to support my opinion. Firstly, the lives of humans and animals are endangered by environmental pollution which is prevalent in our society. This has wrecked lots of havoc on the health of humans and livestock. Hence, improper management of harmful waste by companies should be curbed by Government and erring facilities should be shut down to serve as a deterrent to others. For instance, inhalation of toxic waste released into the environment predisposed people to lots of food and water-born illnesses such as typhoid and cholera. Apparently, this issue has contributed majorly to the unhygienic condition of our environment which in turn lead to life-threatening diseases. According to a survey carried out by NAFDAC in 2021 about toxic wastes, it was observed that 55% of illnesses are from the consumption of contaminated foods and water products. Also, some domestic animals tend to feed on this waste and this result in sickness and premature death. Moreover, Farmers are experiencing hard times due to this act by factories because toxic wastes have a huge negative impact on agricultural produce. Farm produce is greatly affected by these toxins especially when a farm is close to the facility, thereby causing reducing in the yield of agricultural produce which in turn causes profit loss for farmers. For instance, chemicals contained in these wastes could affect the growth of crops or even contaminate them. An example is a corn plantation close to a chemical-producing company in my locality. The produce was contaminated by toxic wastes and caused huge losses to the farmers.In view of this, Government should shut them until they do the needful. In conclusion, the significance of adequate effluent treatment can not be over-emphasized as its contribution to social and economic growth. The majority of these companies must be penalized to desist from such acts and also sensitization programmes could be organized by the appropriate Authority too. In view of this, there must be stringent policies and stiffer punishment for companies who engage in such heinous acts. I also recommend that the staff of these companies should be trained to know the significance of proper waste management.