Some people think that exams are a good way of assessing a student’s level. Other people believe that they put unnecessary pressure on young learners and tell us very little about their actual ability. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, academic competition among students has been increasing day by day. Parents are more focused to get their children some quality education to make them able to compete with the world. However, society is polarized into two equal groups almost equally regarding the notion, of whether assessments are the best channel to judge their ability or they put an unnecessary burden on them. Nonetheless, in the following paragraphs, I would shed light on numerous reasons with examples to support both views and my stance as well. To commence with the first argument, there are myriad things to be shared in its favour. First and foremost, tests allow mentors to inspect pupils from various perspectives. They have to come across a variety of modules, for example, viva and written papers, to clear the level. This forces them not only to rely on their one ability but to concentrate on their other weak areas as well. Furthermore, if examinations are not held, students will not focus on learning. Eventually, they forget all the important things which are taught to them throughout the semester, for instance, significant formulae. As a consequence, they will end up with no improvement in their insights. Shifting towards the second school of thought, exams widely measure the capability of memorizing things. The centre of concern of most undergraduates during the preparation of papers is to pass them rather than concentrate on gaining knowledge. Therefore, they usually try to cramp the whole material, pick out the important topics and exactly paste them into the answer sheets. Moreover, a plethora of conditions can affect the performance of any student during the assessment. For illustration, if someone has a fever or he is not feeling well, he will not be able to put 100 per cent of his efforts and will not attempt the paper effectively. Hence, in the end, losing his grades. In conclusion, after having discussed the arguments and the counter-arguments, I would like to infer my personal opinion that a single piece of a sheet cannot decide the ability of anyone, there are also many factors on which he can be judged such as creative and cognitive traits.