Some people say that art subjects such as painting and drawing should not be made compulsory for high school students. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There have been disputes for a long time about whether art courses should be optional or not for senior pupils in high school. In my own opinion, I hope I can have the right to choose what I will learn at this stage although there may be some merits to being compulsory: cultivating the right attitude and promoting the progress of other disciplines. There are a couple of advantages if art disciplines are compulsory. Firstly, a desirable attitude towards studying and life can be built. Under the pressure of exams, pupils have to try their best to learn these subjects. No matter like them or not, mentees have to treat them carefully so that they can gain a good level. Therefore, they get to know that even if they do not like it, they have to cope with it. Besides, opinions and knowledge in drawing or music courses may give you inspiration when you solve math or physics problems. On the other hand, as a senior school student, I think I know what I should study so that we can apply to a distinguished university. For instance, I clearly know that I would apply for computer engineering at Harvard. Why Should not I spend more time on the subjects that can meet the conditions of Harvard? Moreover, if classes, like painting and music, are optional, we can know what is the vital part of our study so that we can make good time management, which is essential in late life, no matter working or learning. In conclusion, admittedly, compulsory art classes can cultivate the right attitude to our life or study and even promote knowledge merging of various subjects. However, we can have some lessons from other courses. Thus, I agree that these classes should be optional so that we are free to make learning decisions.