Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree

There are approximately 7000 languages alive in the world, and of this number, about 8 percent are considered endangered which would eventually become extinct. Many consider this incident unimportant as it is believed that life would be easier when fewer languages exist. This is a controversial issue, and I shall hold the opposite opinion. To begin with, language is a lot more than just a group of spoken words. It represents the art, culture, history, and more importantly the identity of a nation or a tribe. Each language is unique and this uniqueness is due to its significant functions, such as the oral traditional myths or written documents. The variety of languages contributes to the richness of the world's civilization and culture which should be passed on to the next generation. Secondly, it is undeniable that indigenous people have been forced into excluding their native languages and dialects to communicate in the International language. This has alienated more and more nations, as it takes ages to completely acquire each aspect of a language. Therefore, many people are still struggling with learning and using the International dominant language to communicate and achieve success in business interactions or even diplomatic negotiations. In conclusion, a fair proportion of the people assume that language extinction doesn't matter as the existence of fewer languages means having an easier life. Even though, in my opinion, each language is unique and valuable as it contributes to the culture and identity of a nation. Furthermore, many people have been alienated as they are forced into eliminating their mother tongue and using dominant languages for communication. An African maxim says, "When an old man dies, a library burns to the ground." If an old man's death brings such a loss, imagine what the death of a language brings about.