Holding international games like the Olympics games is an exciting events. Some people thinks it has positive effects while others think it a waste of money. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

These days humans are becoming crazy about numerous multinational events. A section of society holds a notion that conducting foreign games have many advantages for the domestic countries, whereas, critics negate it and believe that it leads to wastage of hard-earned money. Although both aspects hold their own significance, my inclination is toward a former viewpoint. To begin with, there are many reasons for discouraging such events. To start with, a huge investment is needed for its proper execution. Since hosting nations must spend enormously for making these programmes successful. Due to that, funds approved for other assignments like education and the social welfare of society could be used for making the event a grand success. For example, in India, in 2010, Commonwealth games were hosted wherein, approximately Rs 2000 crores were spent on its execution by utilising funds from other areas as well. Secondly, there are extreme chances of misappropriation of funds during this period. As exorbitant amounts in the hands of a few would certainly lead to corruption and misutilisation of the allocated budget. On the contrary, there are myriads of advantages of hosting international events. Firstly, it may assist in promoting the tradition and culture of the domestic nation. Particularly, all the events start with the welcome and ending performances, societies mainly plan traditional events during this time to show to masses their rich culture. For instance, while organising the commonwealth games in 2010 in New Delhi in India, a national anthem was always played before the start of any event, followed by a domestic cultural event. Furthermore, it will also benefit the nation by boosting revenue. Though people from far-off places pay a visit to cheer for their teams consequently, tourism increases in the home nation, which will automatically pave the way for the influx of more income in the surrounding. To conclude, even- if planning an international event demands bulk investment, in my opinion, factors such as promoting revenue for the whole community, besides showcasing rich cultural values to the foreigners plays a prominent role in the overall development of the nation. Hence, these programmes must be promoted for the benefit of society.