The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done solve this problem?

Nowadays, more products which are consumed rapidly are manufactured, and as a result, the ecosystem is facing a severe problem. At the same time, however, there is some uncertainty as to the causes of this trend and its measures. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the debate to seek a conclusion. To begin with, consumers tend to buy an excess quantity of items even when they already have enough to use and throw them away after years of hoarding. For instance, some young girls hoard facial masks and lipsticks, but never use them before treating them as rubbish. Moreover, by producing various goods that can be consumed the manufacturers can profit significantly. However, in the process of making the products there are chemicals emitting into the air and rivers which will pollute the atmosphere and water. In addition, as the technology of inventing and updating electronic devices is improving, digital items are updated more and more quickly which cost numerous natural resources. On the other hand, there are some steps that can be taken to resolve these problems. Advertisings which persuade customers to buy things should be under supervision. Also, governments can broadcast some videos against consumerism, raising the awareness of the public. Furthermore, laws and regulations on the manufacturing industry should be created to protect the environment. To summarize, there is no doubt that producing consumer items can bring serious ecological damages. At the same time, however, governments, manufacturers and advertising enterprises can take measures to reduce the influences. In the final analysis, one can conclude that governments bear the main responsibility to protect the environment in this kind of production.