Government spending on restroration of old buildings in cities should be stopped. Instead they should spend money in housing and road development . Do you agree or disagree with this.

With the rise of post-materialism, bread-and-butter issue has no longer significant for citizens. Hence, based on Maslow's theory, people start to focus on their mental satisfaction, which leads to the demand for restroration of old buildings. That leads to a conflict: whether government should invest capitals in this field. From my perspective, government should invest for that, but in a proper way. First, it is reasonable to claim that government should not pay for fees of restroration of old buildings. Considering a nation's economy, it is not a rational action. The opportunity cost of this decision is so large that, with this amount of money, government is able to establish more infrastructure projects, such as building as real estates which can increase the government income and stimulate the economic growth. Moreover, the increase of spending of restroration also means the possibility of deficit existance increases, which is harmful to the country's monetary and international status. However, the restroration of old buildings is still important. From government's perspective, old buildings with representation of historical events can be recognised as a spot where toutists prefer to visit, which, simultaneously, increases the government revenue; therefore, consumption could be enhanced and the risk of deficit can be ignored. Thus, regional economy can be improved while government will actually be making profits. In addition, public's satisfaction is of great significance for a democratic polity. In that case, local governments should try to fulfill individuals' general will. Since people's preferences have changed, dwellers are attracted by old buildings with spiritual meanings where they can satisfy their mental needs and release pressure from the society. In conclusion, restroration of old buildings obtains more benefits than disadvantages - government can have more income; individuals can be satisfied; and a region's economy can be stimulated. Whereas, risk of facing deficit still exists; thus, government should balance the investment properly.