“Many university students live with families while others live away from home because their universities are in different places.” What are the advantages and disadvantages of both situations?

While some university students are privileged to reside with their families while acquiring their degrees, many others complete their studies far away from home, as the result, these individuals are bound to live by themselves. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits of both situations. On the one hand, residing with families provides a few benefits for students who are not distant from their universities. As the matter of fact, these pupils are not bothered by financial circumstances as their parents, most of the time, are the ones who pay for their necessities. This is owing to the fact that, as opposed to students who live distantly from home, there is no need for them to rent accommodation, or look for a part-time job to compensate for food and other house facilities. It is, however, salient to note that, while being provided with a generous living foundation, these individuals are deprived of the ability to live independently. For instance, If most Vietnamese students had not resided with their parents, many of them would not have been completely reliant on their accompany even after graduating. On the other hand, students who live away from home are equipped with a grasp of responsibility. Specifically, even though they have to balance their expenditures to pay for their accommodations and food, this nevertheless renders their independence. One vivid evidence of this claim comes from overseas students who live thousands of miles away from their families. They are significantly more capable of taking care of themselves in precarious situations compared to domestic students who live with their families. Although this may be true, most of these young people have to employ part-time jobs to pay for the cumulative fees coming from their tuition and living essentials. This, hence, curtails the amount of time that they can invest in studying or relaxing. In conclusion, while those who live with families are financially benefited, they are not as independent as compared to others who live apart from families. Conversely, due to not being able to live with relatives, these students have to get a part-time job which decreases their spare time, although they attain a sense of responsibility.