The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

While there is no doubt that we are continuously seeing more and more people using online platforms for shopping, I believe that there is no possibility that it will lead to the closure of physical shops and stores at any time in future. In this essay, I will briefly explain the reasons why shopping malls, stores, and retail shops will never go out of business. First of all, no matter how efficiently the product is being shown on a website, one is still unable to physically experience it. Personally, I do believe that majority of people like to touch, feel, and sense the product before making a purchase. For example, when a person is ordering food online, he would always be confused that whether it would be as per his taste or not. On the contrary, if he was seeing the same dish in a restaurant, additional senses like smell and taste will help him in making the decision; hence, he can decide much easier. Furthermore, the trust which is built by personally using or testing a product is on a different level than reading the specifications of an item on a website. To illustrate this, even by reading about all the technical features and technologies used in the car which people are seeing in a video, they would still like to drive the car personally. This is how they will be able to check the smoothness of the drive, the silence of the cabin, and the steering abilities of the car. Therefore, we see that despite having the latest websites, the majority of car sales still happen in their showrooms. In conclusion, there is no denying that the online shopping model is gaining traction; however, the experience and the chance of physically testing a product which a physical shop offers has no comparison with what one can read or see on a website. I do believe that physical stores, shopping malls, and retail shops will always be present in our towns and cities as they do not have any substitute.