Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days, some companies inquire about personal information from candidates like their marital status, their interests etc, during the hiring process. While some people debate that this practice is unethical and unlawful, I strongly agree that certain jobs require such information in finding a suitable person for the desired role. Those who are against this, deem these questions as immoral and against the law. They say that enquiring about personal aspects, like what they do in their free time, and about their relationships is irrelevant to the recruitment steps. Furthermore, they believe that such information can also be misused i.e by selling it to marketing firms, or data analyzers etc; and this is the reason why some countries do not allow asking for these details of job applicants. On the other hand, an HR manager or the hiring manager, will be able to hire the right person whose interests will align with the job duties. This will make the hiring process much more efficient, and there will be less turnover and high retention rates in the companies. Another advantage is that some jobs, like working in oil rigs and offshore locations, are better suited to non-married individuals. This is because they require a person to remain at their sites for long periods e.g for six months. Due to such circumstances, a married individual will have difficulties in leaving his family behind, and he will be constantly worried about his family. Due to this, they will have a higher tendency to resign and leave the company, resulting in higher turndown and loss of resources for the company. In conclusion, I believe that employers can ask for any appropriate detail from the candidates which can help them make finding the right employee. This will bring tremendous results in terms of low staff turnover; thus, will save the employers from going through this rigorous cycle again.