Smart phones and other similar electronic gadgets have reduced the contact between friends. Discuss how far you agree with this statement.

Over the past twenty years or so due to the increase of smart phones and pads such as iphones phones and ipads have become more popular than ever before. Despite the fact that many users of sites such as these consider that they can help them to keep in touch with and to make new friends, a considerable number of sociologists believe that the popularity of electronic gadgets are actually reducing face-to-face meetings as well people’s abilities to socialize. This essay will discuss the reasons why I believe that even though smart phones and pads does have some benefits, its overall effects are predominantly negative for many user’s to reduce the contact between friends. Firstly, it can be asserted that although people often use iphones iPhones or ipads to keep in touch with their friends, this does not mean that they do not want to see their friends face to face in daily lives. One of the reasons for this is that smart phones can help them to keep in touch with their friends. For example, using the apps such as Instagram and skype is significant for people to get along with their friends. In addition, many apps such as line or telegram, which can arguably increase the friend network. Another pertinent argument is that smart phones can be frequently helpful for making new friends. For instance, facebook is widespread on smart phones for people to search for new friends who are in the same interests. However, when it comes to the popularity of electronic gadgets, it has been argued that they are actually reducing face-to-face meetings as well people’s abilities to socialize. One of the reasons for this is that electronic gadgets can usually reduce face-to-face meetings such as school and work. For example, if one who is addicting to use electronic gadgets, it is easily to be lack of face-to-face meetings. Another important observation is that electronic gadgets can arguably decrease people ’s abilities to socialize. For instance, people cannot to foster a sense of responsibility for teamwork, even they cannot have important leadership ability in real life. In conclusion, it has been claimed that even though smart phones and pads does have some benefits such as keeping in touch with and making new friends, I therefore believe that its overall effects are undoubtedly negative for many user’s to reduce the contact between friends.