More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending time in communities in poorer countries doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses. Why is this? Who benefits more from this, the communities or these young people?

Day by day, the number of volunteers, who are going to poorer countries from the young citizens of rich countries, is increasing. In my opinion, the most important reason for this is the feeling of spiritual satisfaction that comes from helping people. It is often said that money cannot buy happiness. Indeed, although there are no problems such as hunger, poverty, or lack of education in wealthy countries, this is not enough to make everyone happy, especially the youth. The reason for this, I think, is that material satisfaction is not enough to satisfy the soul while it nourishes the body. As a result of that, people seek happiness in activities such as teaching children who cannot go to school or building houses for the poor. This is invaluable to these communities. The children can learn something from volunteer teachers and people have houses thanks to these activities. On the other hand, I think not only one party but also both parties benefit from these activities. Because while they improve communities' quality of living, the volunteers also feel the happiness of being useful and helping people. Moreover, these help volunteers to improve their social skills and cultivate positive traits such as helpfulness. In conclusion, the pursuit of happiness drives young people in wealthy countries to help communities in poorer countries, and this is beneficial for both two parties. Happiness multiplies when shared, and the increase in volunteers is evidence of that.