It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Scientists have proven that children acquire the cognitive understanding of right and wrong by being taught at an early life stage; regarding this matter, punishment can be a substantial deed for teaching children the discrepancy between right and wrong. In the following, I am going to present my own idea regarding the necessity of punishment in children’s fostering process and discuss suitable chastisements. To begin with, I highly agree with the requirement of chastisement to teach kids to differentiate between good and evil works. However, as far as I know, punishment alone can not be powerful enough to inhibit children from doing inappropriate actions according to recent studies in that not only can it be influential lonely, but also it can make the rearing situation of a child worse. For instance, rough penalising could make a kid more stubborn in repeating unfavourable habits; therefore, penalising ought to be accompanied by encouragement such as giving a treat in case of abandoning an evil act. Regarding proper and acceptable punishments for teaching good behaviour, they ought to be neither too harsh to make kids rebel nor too easygoing as they do not have any impression on youngsters’ behaviour. To incite examples of some proper chastisements in case of observing inappropriate behaviour from a kid, not paying attention to the kid for one hour, not letting him/her watch tv for a couple of hours, not taking the child to amusement parks for one week, etc. can be good instances; accordingly, if these penalties get along with some incentives, they can be so helpful in upbringing process of a child. In conclusion, concerning the importance of teaching youngsters the way of discrimination between desirable and undesirable deeds, and the necessity of penalising in this process, I presented my own point of vantage and exemplified some suitable chastisements.