In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving older railway lines. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In many countries, people think government need to spend large amount of money on establishing new railway lines for high-speed rails to travel between cities but some people be of the opinion that money should spend on ameliorating the existing public transport. To start with the first view, high-speed rails allow passengers to travel greater distances in a shorter amount of time, so people living far away from the city become more accessible. Apart from that, motor vehicles on the road can be reduced, it means greater chance to lower emission of carbon monoxide and road accident. In continuation, high-speed rails may promote tourism as tourists are able to travel among cities effortlessly. Meanwhile in the second view, upgrading the existing public transport will encourage commuters return to use it by expanding more train routes, increasing train frequency and punctuality to avoid waiting time, improving ticketing systems such as mobile phone based ticketing to avoid crowded ticket lines, promoting passenger comfort and safety during the ride and reducing harmful gaseous emissions to lower deleterious environmental impacts. In conclusion, there are numerous advantages to the passengers on both views but before injecting large amount of money, the government need to consider the population and number of users of the country and also take into account for social and environmental impacts.