In some countries, people are purchasing fewer new items and more second-hand goods. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or a negative trend?

A trend has been noticed that people are trying to buy pre-owned goods rather than brand-new products. In my point of view, this used to have more benefits with a little dark side and I would like to cast a light on my opinion in upcoming paragraphs. The foremost cause for the increasement in purchasing old products is that consumers can have quality products with the same features at less cost than buying fresh goods. Moreover, people are able to save more money which can invest in their education or different personal goals. According to a recent study done by New York Times, 60% of USA consumers tend to acquire used products and the demand for new goods had been reduced by 35%. Although, if companies have to reduce their new production, there should be fewer chemicals and harmful wastes which can mix with water and soils as a post-production result. And also it can reduce the usage of non-renewable energies such as fossil fuels, natural gas and so on. As before mentioned, Time's study has clearly showcased a deduction in demand for brand-new products, which helped to reduce environmental pollution by 25% in 2019. Even though with multifarious benefits, purchasing thrifts gives a negative impact on the country's economy as the demand and supply are the roots of inflation fluctuations. In conclusion, while this trend can give a non-considerable amount of impact on the nation's economy, the aforementioned positive aspects have outweighed those negative aspects. Therefore, being less consumeristic on fresh goods is a positive trend which can lead to having sustainable life as individuals as well as the society.