Despite the increased access to education, a significant number of people cannot read or write. What are the disadvantages and what action should the government take?

Though people now increasingly expose with education, an immense number of them do not know how to read or write. The demerits are somethings which may affect their life while there are also several ways to tackle this matter by the authority. On the one hand, inhabitants would have many hurdles in daily lives if they did not have reading or writing skills. First, those are easily deceived by others that want to take advantage of them, especially minority ethnics. Base on this feature, the bad could force the underprivileged to sign some unclear documents which might have the terrible influence on their later lives. Second, it is quite hard for these people to teach their kids. Children from remote areas have more chance to get access to education than parents so adults cannot teach their childs what they have already learnt. On the other hand, action that the government could take are varied. The best thing is that the header should give them incentives to study more. Besides, they could raise funds to open free classes as well as put this problem on the first priority in certain campaigns. For instance, there are campaigns like ‘xoa nan mu chu’ in Vietnam. Hence it can be used to solve the issue. In conclusion, in spite of the fact that there are more and more residents having exposure to the educational ground, the proportion of citizens that do not have reading and writing abilities is still high. This leads to certain drawbacks such as being deceived and barriers in teaching kids. However, some solutions that the header had better apply are incentivizing and opening classes which are free.