The rising levels of congestion and air pollution found in most of the world citie can be attributed directly to the rapidly increasing number of private cars in use. In order to reverse this decline in quality of life in cities, attempts must be made to encourage people to use their cars less and public transport more. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Cars, used by private individuals, is one of the reasons, why air pollution and congestion swelled dramatically, therefore I argue for the need to make public transport and other environmentally friendly transport easier and more comfortable so that cars wouldn't be an essential part of the urban life anymore. It would result both in a quality of life increase and a better climate situation in general. The main reason why public transport, in my opinion, is crucial, is better and more comfortable cities for residents. To clarify, it means not only clear air to breathe but also more space for people. Let us consider Vienna, Austria's capital, which has one of the best public transportation systems, and also is famous for the quantity of parks, forests and et cetera. Less air pollution from cars means a bigger motivation to spend time in the urban areas, hence one can find forest not one hour away from one's apartment, but in the city outskirts. Furthermore, fewer cars are beneficial not only for the city's residents but for the whole ecosystem and all the living creatures. It may be argued that one car cannot make a big difference, but car after car, city after city, the fight against the climate crisis is vital. Air pollution is not a one -time problem, thus if the responsibility isn't taken and cars continue to attribute to congestion, the problem is soon to be spread to rural areas as well. I would like to conclude by saying that getting rid of cars in the urban areas is indispensable, were we to sustain the air quality of our ecosystem as well as to make cities more liveable.